Reunited with Disneyland!

This past weekend I got to escape reality and go visit one of my favorite places – Disneyland! It has been 6 months since my last visit and I was so ready to be back!

IMG_7558

Noah and I got out of our classes at 5:45 pm on Thursday night and basically ran to the car. We grabbed some Earl’s for the road (yes, we are lucky enough to have an Earl of Sandwich 5 minutes from school!) and we drove 5.5 hours to Anaheim!

On Friday morning, I was up by 5:45 am because I was way too excited for the adventures ahead! Sara and I went to a warehouse sale at her work, drove to Mickey and Friends, met up with Noah and Chris, and then headed into the park!

Our first stop was to grab some Hyperspace Mountain fastpasses and food from Jolly Holiday. It was about time I was reunited with my grilled cheese and tomato soup! Noah’s friends Mitchel and Jay met up with us too so we could all go hang out in the park together.

Once I was done eating and our group was assembled, the obvious next move was to go straight to Adventureland! Sadly, Jungle Cruise is closed right now, but we got to say hello to some Skips and check out the new Skipper School setup!

IMG_7563

Another attraction that is closed currently is the Disneyland Railroad. However, we still visited and got to cross the track to get to the old Frontierland station. It was a lot easier to hear that opening speech in morse code from over there, too!

IMG_7580

Next we did three of my favorites: Indiana Jones, Haunted Mansion, and Big Thunder Mountain Railroad! All of those thrills made us hungry, so we had to stop at Pizza Port to grab some Chicken Fusilli right after.

IMG_7429

Once we refueled, it was about time we checked out the ever-famous Launch Bay in Tomorrowland. I was so pumpedGoing to Disney after finally seeing Star Wars was like a completely new experience!

IMG_7561

We were able to meet the three characters in Launch Bay right in a row: Boba Fett, Chewy, and Kylo Ren. The interactions we had were so memorable, especially Chewy’s because he gave us so many hugs!

IMG_7549

IMG_7655

While we were in the Star Wars mood, we headed to Hyperspace Mountain to use our fastpasses. This attraction was incredible. I just remember hearing the Star Wars soundtrack and seeing the new effects, and that resulted in me having the biggest smile on my face the whole time. It’s amazing to me how you can take a classic attraction, add an overlay like this, and make it feel like a brand new experience. I truly loved it and am so glad I had the chance to ride!

IMG_7564

We wanted to head to DCA next, but we couldn’t leave Disneyland without having a little castle photoshoot. It’s amazing to be back!

IMG_7554

Being reunited with California Adventure felt so good too, and of course the first place we went was Soarin’ Over California, my Summer 2015 home!

IMG_7559

We also rode Tower of Terror, California Screamin’, and Toy Story Midway Mania. After, we got some Tacos on the Wharf because, again, riding those E-Ticket attractions just seems to make us hungry.

IMG_7466

It was back to Disneyland for one more quick stop. We wanted to do the Matterhorn and Peter Pan really quick before heading out for the night.

IMG_7545

We made our trek back to the car and headed into Fullerton to try out a restaurant my friend had recommended to me. It’s called The Cellar and it was designed by the same architect as Pirates of the Caribbean. It is gorgeous and they have a late night menu that I’m glad we got to try out. Noah got a steak sandwich and I got truffle mac and cheese, which was probably one of my top 5 best mac and cheeses of all time! (which is a big deal for me to say)

Then after that we finally went home to get some sleep. I absolutely live for days like this and was so grateful I got to be reunited with so many wonderful people.

But… that was only day one! The trip is young! Make sure you check back soon for a post all about day two!

4 thoughts on “Reunited with Disneyland!

  1. Hey Jess!
    I read about your fun adventures on the Disney college program on the DISboards. It was always so fun hearing about all of your adventures! Anyway, I stumbled across your blog and thought, “Wait a sec… is that? Oh my goodness! It’s disneyfreak508!” 🙂 I haven’t been on the DIS for a while. Are you still writing about your adventures over there?

    I’m in college right now and have thought about doing the Disneyland college program for a long time. Since doing the college program, are you hoping to get a job working for Disney post college? I’m majoring in Business Admin. right now and think it would be so cool to work for Disney, but for the business side of it.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing your love of Disney! It keeps the magic going when I’m not at the parks! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Skylar! That’s so exciting that you stumbled across this blog! I don’t write on the DIS anymore. It has been a few years but I definitely missed writing a lot so I relocated over here!

      I think doing the Disneyland College Program would be an extremely smart move. If you want to make working on the business side for Disney a reality, I think it’s the best possible first step. If you do the Disneyland College Program and then get some outside business experience, maybe you’ll be able to apply for a Disney Professional Internship someday and start your journey from there! Doing the CP definitely introduces you to the company and it was the most wonderful time of my life. I highly recommend it!

      You’re so welcome, thanks for finding this blog! I hope you still enjoy all of the updates!

      Like

Leave a Reply

