Grand Canyon

I was lucky enough to have a visitor come all the way to Arizona to see me at the end of February. Sara flew in on Thursday night and on Friday morning we got up and headed straight to the Grand Canyon!

It is a 3.5 hour drive each way but we did it all in one day! I did the first half and Sara did the second and it was one of the most fun day trips/adventures I have gone on in a long time!

We arrived around 2 o’clock. The first time I actually saw the Grand Canyon 1. It didn’t look real, it looked like a GIANT canvas painting 2. It almost made me dizzy to look at! It is unfathomably large and it was almost impossible for me to wrap my mind around it! 3. I knew pictures would never do it a justice, but I tried my best anyway!

IMG_8233

IMG_8220

IMG_8237

We spent the majority of our day walking along the South Rim trail around the top. There are a lot more activities you can do to go deeper into the Canyon, but honestly for us this was perfect. All I needed was a photoshoot and a best friend and I was one happy camper.

IMG_8544

The trail was very long, so after we got “pictured” out, we were just walking and talking and then we would remember “oh hey, the Grand Canyon is right next to us.” It was so surreal!

We wandered into the lobby of the hotel at the end of the trail, took a seat, and rested our legs in the lobby. The entire day I was on the hunt for a Grand Canyon spirit jersey, but none of the gift shops along the trail had any. However, I finally found one in the gift shop of this hotel! So if you’re looking for one, that’s where they are hiding.

IMG_8547

After that brief moment of relaxation, we hopped on a bus that took us back to the beginning of the path and snagged a spot for the sunset. All day the weather was very interesting… the sun was nice and warm but the air itself was cold. However, as sunset was approaching it got very cold very fast!

IMG_8427

As the temperature dropped, the canyon changed from a glowing orange to a soft blue. It was an amazing transformation!

We were starving by the end of this journey, so we thankfully found a Pizza Hut, ate an entire pizza, and headed back home a little after 7 o’clock. (shoutout to Sara for taking the night shift!)

Visiting the Grand Canyon has always been a dream of mine, and knowing it was only a few hours away made it something that I definitely had to do during my last year of school! Have any of you ever been? How was your experience? Let me know in the comments below if you had as much fun as we did!

4 thoughts on “Grand Canyon

  1. I went to college at UF, and we had a week off between the two summer sessions. The year after my freshman year, I wound up taking a road trip out to California with six other people, four guys and two other girls. We left Friday around 11pm and returned to Gainesville just over a week later, Sunday afternoon. There were several nights where someone just drove all night. We crammed a lot into that week – ice skating in Dallas, the zoo and Riverwalk and Alamo in San Antonio, seeing fisherman’s wharf and Chinatown and a trolley ride in San Francisco, etc. The Grand Canyon was one of the last things we did, along with bowling in Flagstaff. Seeing it in person is awe-inspiring, and I can’t wait to go back one day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

