Life Updates: May 2016

We’re already coming up on the end of another chapter. This one seemed to fly by even faster than the last!

To wrap up my last full semester of college, all I have to say is I wouldn’t have had it any other way. I never expected to have the chance to go back on campus and gain these unique experiences. I am leaving this spring 2016 semester feeling fulfilled and proud of all I have accomplished.

I really fell in love with my Communication program here, and have some exciting news about that! Our department offers students the chance to study abroad for 6 weeks over the summer, so this summer I will be studying in London, Dublin, and Edinburgh!
London-901This is a dream come true! Studying abroad was the #1 college experience that I was bummed I would have to miss out on. (According to the plan I had back at my old school) However, things changed and when the opportunity presented itself here in Arizona, I had to take it. I could not be more excited and thankful!

Make sure you keep up with those adventures here and on Instagram/twitter (@JessicaFaye508) all throughout May and June!

(Side note – right before study abroad I’m going to take a quick trip over to California and Seattle to celebrate my birthday before heading out of the states! So be on the lookout for those posts too!)

So study abroad is my big plan for the summer. What about after that?

This past month has particularly been a whirlwind and some big life decisions have been made. After meeting with several advisors, it came to my attention that I only have 3 classes left to complete this fall. So come December 2016 I am hoping to finally have my degree!

The original plan was to hang out in Arizona for one more semester, do those classes on campus and maybe pick up an internship. This would have been a wonderful option!

However, there were a few things that lead me away from taking this direction. In early April, Noah and I decided to part ways. We had such a beautiful relationship, but we’re at different stages in our lives right now. Although I miss my adventure partner very dearly, it is time for us to take our own individual paths. I would never give a second of it back for the world, but moving forward is for the best.

On top of that, Krista is graduating, along with most of the other friends I have made here. So ultimately in Arizona, that pretty much would leave me with less than a full load of classes, possibly an internship, and a few new friends scattered here and there.

This got me thinking – All of my classes have online options so I can take them from anywhere. Also, my best friend Bobby (who lives in Florida by WDW) had an open room at his place.

I realized Florida may be my best option for many reasons including: 1. Closer to family 2. So many friends who already live there/who are moving there 3. Networking opportunities at Disney to set up a plan for post-graduation!

All of the sudden, a big closed door lead to several open windows. I have been praying for clarity for quite some time and it finally revealed itself to me all at once in perfect timing.

So that’s the big update for now! I’m so excited to move to a place and not have a time limit on how long I can stay. I can just settle in and work and build a life the way I want to while being surrounded by wonderful people and beautiful opportunities.

I have a really good and positive feeling about the future. We will see where it takes me from here! Again, thank you all for following along on these adventures and I am so excited to share my Europe stories and Florida stories with you very soon!

IMG_7242

Also, please share any advice/quotes/stories either in the comments below or on twitter regarding big life changes, new opportunities, break ups, new beginnings, etc. Or even some Europe travel tips! My soul is craving all of the positivity it can get right now and I would love to hear some from you all! 🙂

19 thoughts on “Life Updates: May 2016

  1. “I do my thing and you do your thing. I am not in this world to live up to your expectations and you are not in this world to live up to mine. You are you and I am I. And if by chance we find each other, it’s beautiful. If not it can’t be helped.”

    This helped me immensely when going through a breakup in December! Good luck, Jess! I’ll be in Disney in December, hope to bump into you!

    Like

  2. I can’t wait to see your adventures! I studied abroad in Oxford and I loved it over there. I tried to follow your twitter but it won’t let me? haha, but I can’t wait for pictures! I’m also a current Comm PI at WDW – not sure if this is the route you are going but let me know if you need any tips!

    – Molly

    Like

    1. A few years ago my account had this issue where it was blocking people ALL the time… so I guess it decided to do it again. I’m so sorry – I just unblocked it!

      And wait.. seriously? That’s DEFINITELY a potential route I wanted to take. We will have to talk soon! 🙂

      Like

  3. My daughter did a European study abroad, she loved it, London and Dublin and Germany, France not so much – except for the shopping! Such a great life experience. I can’t wait to follow your adventure, you seem to live life to the fullest. Safe travels

    Like

  4. I am so excited for you! Your adventures always inspired me to step out of my comfort zone and try new things and see new places. You were actually one of the people that inspired me to do the DCP back in Spring of 2015. I hope you have the best time studying abroad and I can’t wait to read about it.

    I am actually a comm major myself and Editor-In-Chief at The Odyssey for the DCP Alumni Community. If you haven’t heard of us, we are one of the fastest growing digital media platforms out there right now! About 30 million visitors a month. You’ve probably seen our articles at some point on your Facebook’s timeline. Your writing skills and personality would be a great fit in our team, so if you are ever interested in applying or have any questions, feel free to email me!

    Hoping you have the best time this summer!
    -Taylor
    tayloredemarco@gmail.com

    Like

  5. I followed your TR’s on the dis as was excited to stumble upon your blog. You are leading an incredibly exciting and inspiring life for such a young person! You’ll never regret taking the chances you’ve taken. So many people stay stagnant where they are just because change is scary or uncomfortable. I am impressed by your strong sense of self and determination. You are truly leading a life worth living. Enjoy every second! So positive vibes from a total stranger 😊

    Like

    1. Sorry it took me so long to respond but I am SO glad you made your way over to this blog as well! It feels so good to have so many people here from the DIS days! Thank you for your kind words. They truly mean a lot to me! 🙂

      Like

  6. Hey Jess!
    We’ve spoken a couple of times on insta (I’m katie_disneygram) but you get so much love over there I’d be surprised if you remembered! Since you’re looking for some positivity, I feel I should return the favour because your posts always make me smile 🙂

    My advice regarding your new beginnings is to follow your heart, and don’t allow yourself to have any regrets. Just see and do everything! It’s better to do stuff and potentially not enjoy it, than to always wonder what it would have been like. I’m sorry to hear about Noah. But everything happens for a reason. I bet men are lowkey trying to wife you all the time! You’ll find someone great, so just do you for a while, and everything will fall into place.

    As for Europe, I can help on that too! I live in England and I’m in London quite a lot, it’s an amazing town! There’s so much fun stuff to do. See a show on the West End, take a pedal boat out on the lake in Hyde Park, visit Buckingham Palace and take goofy pictures with the guards! I could go on and on. And Edinburgh is beeeeaauutiful, you’ll love it.

    Disneyland Paris is really easy to get to from London, will you get a chance to visit? I think you’d like it, although it has a very different feel from WDW. The castle is amazing, and I think you’d like the entrance to Adventureland from the hub. It’s very.. Aladdin-y! Disney Dreams is a fantastic nighttime show, and dinner at Inventions in the Disneyland Hotel has a great buffet and the best character interactions I’ve ever had!

    I hope you’re doing good, and keep smiling 🙂

    Like

    1. I swear I responded to this AGES ago but I’m going through comments and realize I never did. I cannot thank you enough for your positivity and the chuckles you provided from this post. 🙂 They really made me happy and I appreciate it! I’m devastated that London and Disneyland Paris are over already… but I’m in Ireland now and have Edinburgh to go still. I’m looking forward to it.

      Thanks for everything and thank you for following along! You are wonderful!

      Like

  7. Hi Jess! I’ve been following you on Instagram for a while and love hearing about your Disney adventures! I am a Florida girl who moved to NYC a few years back – it was a huge change but a path I’m glad I took (grad school, interior design career, and met my husband here – wouldn’t mind going back to FL now, though!). My husband studied abroad in London and loved it! We’ve gone back a few times and it’s a wonderful city – you’ll adore it. Good luck in the future and I look forward to hearing about your latest endeavors!

    Like

  8. Way late on this, but now is the time to do the things YOU want to do. Keep travelling, and adventuring!

    Break ups are rough. After six years with one girlfriend (many years ago), I figured life was over. Nope. It was just beginning. New adventures, and learning experiences.

    Like

    1. It’s never too late for great advice like this! Thanks for your optimism. I’m so glad things turned out well for you, I can’t imagine how hard that was! New adventures are always great inspiration for moving forward!

      Like

Leave a Reply

