Seattle, Washington

One of the greatest blessings I gained from working at Disney was the ability to meet friends from all over the country. Kari is one of my closest friends from my Disneyland College Program and she lives in Seattle, WA! After almost two years of being friends, I finally had the opportunity to go visit her in her hometown!

Tuesday May 10th, 2016

We started off the day by taking a monorail downtown. Yes, an actual monorail! The company who designed this monorail also designed the Disney one… so it was pretty cool to see it in a different environment!

For this trip we decided to purchase the Seattle CityPass! It was the perfect way to cram a ton of sightseeing into a short amount of time. Our first stop was the Seattle Space Needle, which takes you 520 feet up in the air above the city. It gave us the most incredible view! We really lucked out with the weather, too. I think I came to Seattle the two days out of the year that it was actually sunny!

DSC_0304

Our next stop was Chihuly’s Glass Museum. This was such a unique walkthrough! There were so many bright colors and uniquely shaped sculptures… a lot of them reminded me of being under the sea!

Then we went to the EMP Museum which was very cool to explore! We went in a sound room and I taught myself how to play the Haunted Mansion theme on a very spooky sounding keyboard. That was a huge highlight of my visit! There were also some Hello Kitty, fantasy, and sci-fi exhibits that were really interesting, too!

To end our first day, we went to a Seattle’s Mariner’s baseball game – which they won! Hooray! Yay sports!

Wednesday May 11th, 2016

For day 2, we went down by the water and started our day off at the Seattle Aquarium! The coolest part of our visit was seeing harbor seals get trained and fed. There were also cute otters and fish, too!

Next, we did the Ferris Wheel! It circled around 3-4 times and gave us such a cool view of the water and city!

DSC_0514

At 1:25 pm we took a boat tour which gave us another spectacular view of Seattle. Mount Rainier was completely visible today, which apparently only happens less than 90 days out of the year! Again, I don’t know how I lucked out with this weather.

DSC_0526

Another important Seattle stop was checking out Pike Place market. We didn’t have a ton of time but we made sure to check out the first ever Starbucks location! It was so cool to see where it all began!

IMG_1738

Our last stop for the day was the Woodland Park Zoo. I love checking out zoos in the different cities I visit. The animal highlights of this trip were feeding the giraffes, a jaguar majestically sitting in perfect view, and a ton of river otters swimming, running around, and playing with each other!

I cannot thank Kari enough for making this trip possible, and I was so glad I got to see Seattle before moving back to the east coast. The Pacific Northwest is such a beautiful part of the country, and I don’t know if I ever would’ve seen it if it wasn’t for meeting such great friends on my Disneyland College Program!

Up Next: A stop in San Francisco!

Leave a Reply

