Arriving in London/Harry Potter Studio Tour

Why hello, everyone! I’m coming to you live from London after (another) busy day of sightseeing and classes. The past six days have been like nothing I have ever experienced before and this is only the beginning!

I started off my Study Abroad program when I flew into London on May 17th and have been going non-stop ever since! So much has happened in a mere few days and I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

Wednesday May 18th, 2016

On our first full day we went on a tour of London and had the chance to go inside Westminster Abbey! It was my first real experience with European architecture and it was truly extraordinary. One of the coolest parts for me was walking by the burial sites of Sir Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, and Charles Dickens. I never thought I would be able to say that!

IMG_2197

That night we also saw Kinky Boots, which was our first theater performance of the trip. I really enjoyed it! The performer who was cast as Lola absolutely lit up the stage and I was blown away by his/her energy. I’m so glad that was part of our trip!

Also, before I get too far into the post, here is some pub food that I got to eat during my first few days! It was just as delicious as it looks!

Thursday May 19th-Friday May 20th, 2016

After class I hopped on a train to go see one of my best friends, Frankie! Her family welcomed me into their home and prepared an authentic English roast for dinner. It was amazing and delicious!

IMG_2176

The next morning, Frankie was able to show me the high street near her home. We were able to go to Primark to shop and Nando’s to eat!

Then we got to do the Harry Potter studio tour in London which was one of the most surreal experiences of my entire life. I just watched all of the movies for my first time ever this past spring break (I know, I’m a decade and a half behind). With the movies so fresh in my mind, walking through the Hogwarts doors into the dining hall, seeing Diagon Alley, visiting the house on Privet Drive, etc. was more than magical.

IMG_2217

The Warner Bros. Studio lot in London is where the actors from the Harry Potter series basically grew up, so just being able to step foot there was such an honor. It was such an interactive and immersive experience and definitely a must-do if you’re a Harry Potter fan visiting London!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Up Next: Sherlock Holmes Museum and London Zoo!

10 thoughts on “Arriving in London/Harry Potter Studio Tour

  1. This adventure is so exciting! I can’t wait to see Europe along with you. What types of classes are you taken? Are they in a classroom or are they more hands on? Good luck on your trip Jess!

    Like

    1. Thank you, I am SO excited for Europe adventures! So far they have been a dream! We are taking two classes – One called Spaces and Places which is a lot of hands on sight seeing. Then the other is British Life and Culture which is where they bring in lecturers that discuss different topics! Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so excited for you and look forward to reading your blog about your study abroad!!!! Have a great time!!!!

    Like

  3. Eating at Nando’s is the only thing on the British citizenship test. It’s more important than visiting Buckingham Palace. I hope we’re treating you well, and I’m glad that you’re enjoying yourself! You seem to have done more touristy things than I’ve done in the 24 years I’ve lived here! I need to get over to the Harry Potter studios asap. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Jess!

    I’m from the UK and have been a reader since your earliest DIS trip reports; it’s crazy to me that you’re actually in my country AND when you’re in Edinburgh you’ll only be an hour away from me. I feel like you’re a movie character that’s suddenly come to life haha.

    Now that you’ve experienced Primark and Nandos your work here is pretty much done! What did you think of Primark?

    Thanks for sharing your life with us, your adventures are so inspiring.

    Like

  5. That’s so cool! I can’t believe how close we will be! Thank you for reading along for so many years, I truly appreciate it!

    I loved Primark! So many cute things.. especially all of the little Disney items. That was a blast to explore. And Nando’s was DELICIOUS, I got it 4 times haha.

    You’re so welcome, thank you for following along!

    Like

Leave a Reply

