We’ll Tell the Story of Tonight – HAMILTON!

April 4th, 2017

The next journey took place in early April when my friend Abi and I went to New York City for the absolute trip of a lifetime!

We flew up from Florida to the Big Apple for tons of wonderful adventures ahead. After arriving at our hotel near Times Square with no real plans for the night, and the both of us started hinting at the same idea.

“Do you want to just go down to Richard Rogers Theatre to see if there are any Hamilton tickets available for tonight?”

Abi is the person who introduced me to Hamilton. She has been obsessed with it for two years, where as I have only been obsessed with it for a few months. However, the obsession is real. I learned the songs so quickly and became extremely attached to the story. I figured going down there would at least be worth a shot.

And who am I to deny the wise words of Lin Manuel Miranda when he says “I’m not throwin’ away my shot?”

So we walked up to Richard Rogers on a rainy, cold, Tuesday afternoon around 5:30 pm. We noticed a few people lingering outside, but that was it. We went up to the employee and asked him if there was a way to get tickets at this point. He said, “well, you’re welcome to join the cancellation line. There’s absolutely no guarantee that anything will happen though.”

We scoped out the scene and we would be #10 and #11 in line. They apparently already gave away about 10 tickets earlier in the day and usually only the first few in line get in, if any, so it was definitely a risk.

What’s an hour and a half when you could possibly have the memory of seeing Hamilton for the rest of your life? So we waited and waited. The anxiety rose. Abi was pretty convinced it wasn’t going to happen, but I was holding onto my glimmer of hope.

IMG_3770

About 10 minutes before show time, a lady came up and offered to sell her two tickets at face value. She just wanted to get rid of them and at that point… I was so invested in seeing the show that I was ready to just pay her. So I went across the street to go take out money.

However, you know when you’re in an unfamiliar city and your bank gets an alert that you’re taking out money at a relatively sketchy ATM? Yeah that’s what happened to me. It was 6:52 pm, so I had about 8 minutes until show time and I had to figure out how to tell my bank to chill so I could get the money to see the show of our dreams!

Once I finally got everything with my bank sorted, Abi calls me at 6:56 pm and goes “COME BACK! WE GOT TICKETS AND WE NEED YOU HERE!”

I grabbed the money that the ATM just spit out, weaved through cars, and got across the street. They were saying “let the girl with the black jacket in!!” and they did. We paid for our tickets (not knowing where they would even be) and walked into the theater.

We walked up to our seat, and they were CENTER ORCHESTRA ROW 7. So much better than the ones I would’ve bought off that lady. So much better than any tickets we could have ever dreamed of having.

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Abi and I were so giddy and couldn’t believe that this magic actually happened. That was genuinely a moment in my life that I can pinpoint as one of my happiest of all time. It was such a gamble to take and it actually worked out!

The show began and I couldn’t stop smiling. Alexander Hamilton (Javier Munoz) was as close to Lin as you could possibly get. He perfectly embodied what I imagined Alexander Hamilton to be when I listened to the soundtrack, and I was so thankful for that!

Lafayette/Thomas Jefferson (Donald Webber Junior) absolutely lit up the stage and was so excellent. Then, of course, King George’s comic relief segments were absolutely unreal. After seeing this live I had a new favorite character because Taran Killam was so excellent. His physicalities and facial expressions had me in stitches.

The show ended, and after many tears were shed we headed out of the theater on an absolute high.

IMG_3769

We never had the chance to eat dinner since we went straight from the airport, to the hotel, to the theatre. So we stopped at Walgreens, bought some “bloody lunchables,” and went back to our room and watched Full House with the view of Times Square out the window.

This was truly one of the best nights of my entire life and a memory that I will never forget. I wouldn’t have wanted it to happen any other way.

Truly, if you don’t have a crazy, insane, and anxiety-induced “first time seeing Hamilton” story, did you really see Hamilton?

IMG_3779

 

One thought on “We’ll Tell the Story of Tonight – HAMILTON!

Leave a Reply

